John Dale Trophy 2016

MAX Effort: the 2016 John Dale Trophy winner, Max Forster of the Northumberland Club

Max Forster John Dale Trophy 2016Mighty Mouse is a Big Cheese at last…

Jesmond’s Max Forster has lifted the biggest prize on the North East junior squash circuit.

The all-action junior – nicknamed Mighty Mouse for his energetic style – has been awarded the coveted John Dale trophy for 2016.

He makes up a magnificent 7 of current and former juniors who have won the award since its inaugural year of 2010.

The award is given to the best performing junior in the county each season – on and off the court.

Forster is already a regular on the adult league circuit, playing Premier League squash in the Northumbria and Durham Leagues. He has also enjoyed a superb year in junior tournaments, rising to the dizzy heights of fifth in the country at Under 15 level.

The 14-year-old follows in the footsteps of some of the region’s very best over the last few years – Lucy Beecroft, Chris Wiggins, Michael Mattimore, Cai Younger, Dan Wareing and Josie Barker – and the awarding of the trophy has become a cherished tradition at the climax of the annual county junior championships at Jesmond.

Forster had already showed his class by collecting a rare double in the September competition – lifting the Boys Under 15 and Under 17 title.

Selected by a panel of the region’s top coaches, the award is named in honour of the late John Dale of Kingston Park and Tynemouth squash clubs, a former top-100 professional who died of cancer aged just 33 in 2010.

John’s friendly demeanour and inimitable swashbuckling style on court won him many friends at home and abroad during his all-too-short career, and this annual award is designed to celebrate the very best of North East squash.

The coaches this year picked a player whose enthusiasm and passion for the game is second to none.

“For many years now, Max has been a bundle of energy on a squash court,” said county chairman Dave Barnett. “He has always competed with the very best of his age in the country.

“But recently he has coupled that energy with an added composure and maturity, which has led to more progression in his results and national ranking.

“He has become a strong role model for all aspiring juniors with his calm yet passionate demeanour.”

John Dale Trophy Winners

2010 - Lucy Beecroft (Tynemouth)
2011 - Chris Wiggins (Northumberland Club)
2012 - Michael Mattimore (Northern)
2013 - Cai Younger (Northern)
2014 - Dan Wareing (Northumberland Club)
2015 - Josie Barker (Northern)
2016 - Max Forster (Northumberland Club)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment