Northumbria Squash Summer League 2017 play-offs – day 1

Northumbria Squash Summer League 2017 play-offs – day 1

Play-offs weekend 12th/13th of August at Tynemouth SRC featured Newbiggin I versus Northumberland C and Westoe I versus Benwell Hill.

Yet again there is going to be a new name as champions. Games were played 4-3-2-1 with PAR-15 scoring.

Newbiggin I vs Northumberland C
Phil Dobinson W/O
John Armstrong 3-1 Sam Aiston 6-15 15-12 15-10 15-10
Matthew Youngman 3-0 Rich Carter 15-7 15-12 15-9
David Jackson 3-0 Dave Breakey 15-7 15-11 15-14

Newbiggin were convincing winners with Northumberland a man down from the start.  Sam Aiston putting up a valiant fight against John Armstrong but eventually running out of steam.

Westoe were not able to field their first choice team so were always going to struggle against Benwell Hill although if Paul Little had taken his chances things might have been different.

Westoe I versus Benwell Hill
Dave Elsender (Snr)  0-3 Ian Allan 8-15 10-15 10-15
Brian Pape 0-3 Bob Aynsley 5-15 3-15 7-15
Paul Little 2-3 Karen Heron 15-11 15-10 8-15 11-15 11-15
Ryan Hall 3-1 Phil White 14-15 15-4 15-10 15-6

Congratulations to the Newbiggin I and Benwell Hill who battle it out tomorrow to decide the new champions.

Here are some photos of the day to share.

MVP – Karen Heron
The MVP of the day goes to Karen Heron for her comeback win against Paul Little.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment