John Dale Trophy 2019

Double MAX for Toon Starlet

Newcastle squash hotshot Max Forster has completed an historic double – becoming the first player to lift the coveted John Dale trophy twice.

The 17-year-old first lifted the award three years ago as a 14-year-old. But with another season of incredible achievements at home and abroad under his belt in 2019, the Northumberland club favourite was again a deserved winner. Awarded his trophy after winning the Northumbria Boys U19 county title, Forster collected a trophy which is handed to the best performing junior in the county each season – on and off the court.

Now in its 10th year, the trophy is named in honour of the late John Dale of Kingston Park and Tynemouth squash clubs, a former top-100 pro who sadly lost his fight against cancer in 2010, aged just 33. John’s fun-loving but competitive attitude won him many friends in the world of squash and this prestigious annual award is designed to celebrate the very best of North East squash.

Forster’s award comes after a superb year in which he made his debut on the PSA tour, won the English U19 title in March, and also:

    • became Men’s county champion for the second time
    • was selected to represent England at the European Championships and World Junior Championships in Malaysia
    • made the final of the Dutch U19 Open
    • finished in the last four of the U19 European Junior Open
    • helped the Northumbria Men’s County team to promotion to the Premier League for the first time

“Max always shows great enthusiasm and is going from strength to strength at the moment,” said County Chairman Dave Barnett. “He is a superb ambassador for North East squash and a deserved winner of this special award.”

Dylan Younger

Roll of Honour

2019 - Max Forster (Northumberland Club)
2018 - Lowri Waugh (Northumberland Club)
2017 - Andrew Shipley (Northern)
2016 - Max Forster (Northumberland Club)
2015 - Josie Barker (Northern)
2014 - Dan Wareing (Northumberland Club)
2013 - Cai Younger (Northern)
2012 - Michael Mattimore (Northern)
2011 - Chris Wiggins (Northumberland Club)
2010 - Lucy Beecroft (Tynemouth)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment