Northumbria County Closed 2022 – Results

The Northumbria County Closed 2022 is over and our champions have been decided!

We had an outstanding entry this year with over 70 entries and close to 100 matches, including 4 full graded draws and an 8 player women’s draw! All of this just over 3 months after the previous, delayed county closed last October!

With an unfortunate last-minute dropout from 13-time champion Dave Barnett and no.2 seed Chris Wiggins dropping out due to injury after his 1st round match, the Men’s title was open for the taking! Liam Gutcher was the only player left in the draw with a county title to his name, but Liam’s bid for his 3rd title was cut short after he lost out to an impressive Michael Mattimore in the semi-final. The 2nd semi-final saw Cai Younger take on Jamie Todd, both of who were yet to reach a county final, and Jamie took his opportunity and advanced to the final with a 3-0 victory. Michael was on top form in this event and this continued in the final, coping with almost everything Jamie had to offer and, despite a valiant effort from Jamie, Michael was crowned county champion!

In the women’s event, we were seeded for a repeat of last year’s final with both Sam Ward and Hannah Cliff winning their opening matches comfortably. Sam continued her dominance in the semi-final, beating Emma Rowell 3-0. The 2nd semi-final, however, didn’t go to seeding with Hannah falling ill and having to withdraw giving 3rd seed Rebecca Symmons a clear path to the final. Rebecca showed glimpses of her undoubted ability in the final, but Sam showed her class and cruised to her 9th, and 6th consecutive, women’s county title!

Michael Mattimore and Sam Ward

Main events results:

Men’sMichael MattimoreJamie Todd3-0 11-5 11-8 11-5
LadiesSam WardRebecca Symmons3-0 11-5 11-6 11-5
BSam SweeneySimon Broatch3-0
CBob AynsleyKaren Heron3-0 11-6 11-7 11-8
DJack ShottonRicki Norton3-1 15-13 9-11 11-5 11-6

Plate events results:

AChris GarnerDan Ward3-2 7-11 11-13 11-6 11-6 11-7
LadiesAnnabelle SatowMia Smith3-2 11-7 11-7 8-11 10-12 11-9
BCharlie PonentAndrew Walsh3-1 11-9 12-10 8-11 11-8
CJoe ElliottAndy King3-0 11-7 11-7 11-4
DNick ThorntonStuart Mitchell3-2 12-10 7-11 9-11 11-7 11-8

Congratulations to all the winners and runners-up and a big thank you to the event organisers, Steve Cubbins and Louise Robertson and everyone who helped out over the tournament!

The Master’s, Doubles and Racketball County events will be held later this year, so keep your eyes peeled!

For more information and photos

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment